Stupid Acronyms – Quadro ODE (NVIDIA)

I’m not a big fan of acronyms, but they seem to be a necessary evil in the IT field.

It would be fine if everyone knew what each acronym stood for, but too often these little meaningless groups of letters are used in writing or conversation by people who have no clue what the acronym actually means. This may not bother some people, but it is a pet peeve of mine. I really appreciate it when people define acronyms in their writing or presentations, especially in educational or teaching material.

Today I was on the NVIDIA site to download an updated driver for a laptop graphics card (NVS 4200M). To make things confusing, NVIDIA provides FIVE (5) different types of drivers for this card. The driver types are not clearly explained on the download form – has anyone seen a description of which driver type to use for which situation? In the process, I used Google to help me find that “ODE” means Optimal Driver for Enterprise in NVIDIA-land. The five types of drivers listed were:

  • Quadro ODE Graphics Driver
  • Quadro Performance Driver
  • Quadro Partner Certified Driver
  • AutoCAD Performance Driver
  • 3ds Max Performance Driver

Thanks NVIDIA for making driver downloads confusing … as if there isn’t enough confusion already in the IT world. I’m sure there are good reasons for them to have multiple driver types, but a simple explanation on the download page couldn’t hurt.

Update for 2014, NVIDIA is still using the ODE acronym. Official definition is available on “Release Highlights” of certain recent driver downloads such as QUADRO/NVS/TESLA/GRID DESKTOP DRIVER RELEASE 331 (nvidia.com) which contains the following message “‘Optimal Drivers for Enterprise’ [ODE]. ODE branches are dedicated to relatively long term stability for ISV certification, OEMs, and Enterprise customers.”

About notesbytom

Keeping technology notes on WordPress.com to free up my mind to solve new problems rather than figuring out the same ones repeatedly :-).
This entry was posted in Technical Communication and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Stupid Acronyms – Quadro ODE (NVIDIA)

  1. Spark Editor says:

    Thanks for validating my frustration. I ran into the exact same list and did the exact same head-scratch. Luckily for me, Google now has this post its index—a luxury you didn’t have when you did your original search—so at least I know I’m not alone in my opinion!

  2. “THANK GOD FOR YOU!!!!!” I SHRIEKED !!!!!!!! (only in my mind, I don’t want to get hauled off by the company police)
    I too am frustrated by the moronic “makes-no-sense” acronym plague that seems to infect everyone even remotely near computer “stuff”. It’s as if everyone in computing HAS to make everything cryptic in order to make the uninitiated think they are “so smart” when you explain things in normal words, or use names that have meaning they go “oh, that’s what you mean” and I guess this hurts the computer nerd ego or something.

  3. Don says:

    Drives me nuts
    The explanation for each is found here.
    http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Help.aspx?lang=en-us

    I agree this should be right on the download page

  4. GertJan says:

    Thank you! Just what i was looking for. How on earth should a normal human being with some IT knowledge know what “ODE” stands for? I hate it when i just need a standard driver, but have to look on different pages to know what to download.

  5. ohenley says:

    +1 this ODE acronym is useless and plain stupid. Don’t get me started. Thanks.

  6. Mike Wang says:

    Thanks for sharing the tips 🙂

  7. Derrick says:

    Can you believe I too (this post is over 2 years old now) had the same issue and found this site to answer the wonderfully obfuscated way of making all of us that are NOT Nvidia employees have to Google this.

    Thanks for your post!

  8. Immanuel says:

    OMG.. thanks!
    And I was already frustrated that Windows Auto-Updated my driver to a faulty one… then automatic detection tool from NVIDIA refuses to install…. and then ODE what?!

    • Immanuel says:

      And apparently “Enterprise” doesn’t necessary mean what you’d think.. perhaps “General” is would be a more useful term!

  9. Claes says:

    Thanks for this! And thanks Don for the explanation.

  10. Pavel says:

    There is more:

    ODE (Optimal Driver for Enterprise) comes in two flavours:

    – ODE QNF (Quadro New Feature)
    – ODE WHQL (Windows Hardware Quality Labs)

    as I write this post there are 4 (Four) ODE WHQL branches:

    ODE WHQL branch 340
    ODE WHQL branch 352
    ODE WHQL branch 361
    ODE WHQL branch 367

    all developed and released in parallel. Some contain “new feature”.

    Nvdia stopped communiating to the community, and that means that Nvidia has lost control which means it does not know what they are doing.
    I’m uninstalling the current driver I have which is ODE QNF branch 368, and installing QNF WHQL 340, staying conservative.

    • notesbytom says:

      Thanks for the comment Pavel, it’s good to know about the QNF and WHQL types along with various branch numbers. I’ll keep this in mind when choosing Nvidia drivers in the future. I wish it were more simple, not sure why there are so many driver choices when I would prefer to just get one and be done with it.

Leave a Reply

